

Program for Capacity Development for Bhutan's Accession to the WTO In Partnership with Royal Government of Bhutan

organised by

Centre for WTO Studies, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade

22nd – 25th January, 2024

Venue: 8th Floor, Centre for WTO Studies, NAFED Building, New Delhi

Programme Schedule

Day One: 22 th January 2024				
		Prof. Pritam Banerjee Head, CWS		
09:00 to 09:30 hrs	Inaugural Session	Shri Harsha Vardhana Singh Former Deputy Director General, WTO		
		Prof. Abhijit Das Former Head, CWS		
09:30 to 11:30 hrs	Introduction to the Structure and Agreements of the WTO	Prof. Abhijit Das Former Head, CWS		
11:30 to 11:45 hrs	Tea Break			
11:45 to 01:00 hrs	Introduction to the Main Functions of the WTO and Rights and Obligations of Member States	Shri Harsha Vardhana Singh Former Deputy Director General, WTO		
01:00 to 2:00 hrs	Lunch			
02:00 to 03:30 hrs	Negotiating Function of the WTO: Procedures, Protocols, Administrative Mechanisms	Shri Rajeev Kher Former Commerce Secretary and Shri Jayant Dasgupta Former Ambassador of India to the WTO		
03:30 to 03:45 hrs	Tea Break			
03:45 to 05:30 hrs	Negotiating Function of the WTO: Role of National Mission in Geneva and Ministry in the Capital	Shri Rajeev Kher Former Commerce Secretary and Shri Jayant Dasgupta Former Ambassador of India to the WTO		
Day Two: 23rd January 2024				



09:00 to 11:00 hrs	Dispute Settlement Mechanism: Rules and Procedures	Shri Atul Kaushik Former Additional Secretary, GoI and former officer at Indian Mission to WTO		
11:00 to 11:15 hrs	Break			
11:15 to 01:00 hrs	Management of Disputes: Function of Mission in Geneva and Agencies in the Capital	Shri Atul Kaushik and Shri Tapan Mazumdar Additional DGFT, GoI		
01:00 to 02:00 hrs	Lunch			
02:00 to 03:30 hrs	Experience Sharing using case Study examples: Disputes	Shri Atul Kaushik and Shri Tapan Mazumdar		
03:30 to 03:45 hrs	Tea Break			
03:45 to 5:30 hrs	Trade in Services and Domestic Regulations	Shri Sumanta Chowdhary (Former Secretary, Government of India, former lead negotiator, India) and Shri Harsha Vardhana Singh		
Day Three: 24th January 2024				
09:00 to 11:00 hrs	Monitoring Function of the WTO: Process of Trade Policy Reviews	Mr. Mukesh Bhatnagar, Former Prof. CWS		
11:00 to 11:15 hrs	Tea Break			
11:15 to 01:00 hrs	Management of the Policy Review Process: Role of mission in Geneva and department and agencies in the capital	Mr. Mukesh Bhatnagar, Former Prof. CWS		
01:00 to 02:00 hrs	Lunch			
02:00 to 03.30 hrs	Trade Defence Measures: ASCM, Safeguards, Anti-Dumping	Mr. Mukesh Bhatnagar, Former Prof. CWS and Mr. R. K. Gupta, Former Chairman Settlement Commission, Customs and Central Excise		
03:30 to 03:45 hrs	Tea Break			
03:45 to 05:30 hrs	Challenges and Concerns of Digital Trade	Shri J. S. Deepak (Former Secretary, GoI, former senior representative at Indian Mission to WTO in Geneva)		
Day Four: 25th January 2024				
09:00 to 11:00 hrs	Accession Process Overview	Shri Harsha Vardhana Singh,		



		and Shri Abhijit Das Former Head, CWS
11:00 to 11:15 hrs	Tea Break	
11:15 to 01:00 hrs	Accession Negotiations: Learning from Experience: Nepal	Mr. Posh Raj Pandey, Former Accession Negotiator, Nepal
01:00 to 02:00 hrs	Accession Negotiations: Learning from Experience: Liberia	Mr. Axel Addy, Former Accession Negotiator, Liberia
02:00 to 03:00 hrs	Lunch	
03:00 to 05:00 hrs	Brainstorming and Panel Discussion with Faculty Panel (opportunity to review course content and discuss in detail any points from the previous four days)	Shri Harsha Vardhana Singh/ Shri Anup Wadhawan/ Shri J.S. Deepak/ Shri Jayant Dasgupta/ Shri Mohan Kumar/ CWS Faculty
5:00 hrs to 5:30 hrs	Closing Session	