





## **Course on Trade Negotiations**

Organized by

## Centre for WTO Studies Centre for Research in International Trade

## 7-9 October 2024

Venue: Nalanda Hall, Ground Floor, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, IIFT Bhawan, B-21, Qutab Institutional Area, New Delhi-110016

## Programme Schedule

	Day 1			
Monday, 7 October 2024				
0900-0905 hrs	Registration			
0905-0930 hrs	Inaugural Session			
	_			
	Welcome Remarks	Dr. Pritam Banerjee		
		Head & Professor, CWS		
		Dr. James J. Nedumpara		
		Head & Professor, CTIL		
	Special Address	Dr. Rakesh Mohan Joshi		
1	·	Vice Chancellor, IIFT (TBC)		
	Vote of Thanks	Dr. Murali Kallummal		
	-	Professor, CWS & Head Admin, CRIT		
0930-0935 hrs	Group Photograph			
0935-1000 hrs	High-tea			
1000-1130 hrs	Session 1	Dr. Biswajit Nag		
	Introduction to Trade Theory	Professor, IIFT		
1130-1145 hrs	Tea/ Coffee			
1145-1315 hrs	Session 2	Dr. Rohit Mehtani		
	Negotiations Strategy	Professor, IIFT		
1315-1400 hrs	Lunch			
1400-1530 hrs	Session 3	Mr. Harsha Vardhana Singh		
	Introduction to WTO	Former DDG, WTO		
		Mr. Abhijit Das		
		Former Head & Professor, CWS		
1530-1600	Tea/ Coffee			
1600-1730 hrs	Session 4	Mr. Harsha Vardhana Singh		
	Panel Discussion on WTO issues	Former DDG, WTO		
		Mr. Jayant Dasgupta		
		Former Ambassador to WTO		
		Mr. J.S. Deepak		
		Former Secretary, Gol		

T-	1				
		Mr. Abhijit Das			
		Former Head & Professor, CWS			
		Dr. Sachin Kumar Sharma			
		Professor, CWS			
1730-1800 hrs	Tea/Coffee				
	Day 2				
	Tuesday, 8 October 2024				
1000-1130 hrs	Session 5	Dr. James J. Nedumpara			
	Legal Analysis of Trade Agreements	Head & Professor, CTIL			
1130-1145 hrs	Tea/Coffee				
1145-1315 hrs	Session 6	Dr. Murali Kallummal			
	Labour/Environment/Sustainability and	Professor, CWS & Head Admin, CRIT			
	Trade				
1315-1400 hrs	Lunch	•			
1400-1530 hrs	Session 7	Dr. Pritam Banerjee			
	Trade Analysis/Trade Databases	Head & Professor, CWS			
		Dr. Sugandha Huria			
		Assistant Professor, IIFT			
		Ms. Priyanshi Sharma			
		Associate, CWS			
1530-1600 hrs	Tea/Coffee	7133001410, 0443			
1600-1730 hrs	Session 8	Dr. Anup Wadhawan			
1000 1730 1113	Panel Discussion on FTAs Negotiations &	Former Commerce Secretary			
	Experience Sharing	Mr. Sumanta Chaudhuri			
	Experience Sharing	Former Secretary, Gol			
		7			
		Mr. Anant Swarup			
		Additional Secretary, DoC			
		Dr. Rajan Sudesh Ratna			
1720 1000 has	Ton/Coffee	Economic Affairs Officer, UNESCAP			
1730-1800 hrs	Tea/Coffee				
	Day 3	12.4			
/50	Wednesday, 9 October 20				
(F0)	r day 3 participants will be joining their separa <b>Track I</b>	te tracks details as below)			
1000 1120 brs	Trade Remedies	Mu Mukash Phatnagau			
1000-1130 hrs	Trade Remedies	Mr. Mukesh Bhatnagar			
		Former Professor, CWS			
		Ms. Shailja Singh			
		Associate Professor, CTIL			
		Dr. Amit Randev			
	- 10.55	Consultant, CWS			
1130-1145 hrs	Tea/Coffee				
1145-1315 hrs	Rules of Origin	Dr. Rajan Sudesh Ratna			
		Economic Affairs Officers, UNESCAP			
1315-1415 hrs	Lunch				
1415-1545 hrs	NTMs	Dr. Murali Kallummal			
		Professor, CWS & Head Admin, CRIT			
	Track II				
1000-1130 hrs	Services	Dr. Pralok Gupta			
		Associate Professor, CWS			
1130:1145 hrs	Tea/Coffee				
1145-1315 hrs	Digital	Ms. Monika			
		Assistant Professor, CWS			
1315:1415 hrs	Lunch	i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i			
1415-1545 hrs	IPR	Ms. Pallavi Arora			
		Assistant Professor, CWS			
		1.0010tante i roje0001, evvo			

1545-1630 hrs	Valedictory Session	
	Keynote address	Dr. Pritam Banerjee
		Head & Professor, CWS
		Dr. James J. Nedumpara
		Head & Professor, CTIL
	Special Address	Additional Secretary, DoC (TBC)
	Vote of Thanks	<b>Dr. Rakesh Mohan Joshi</b> Vice Chancellor, IIFT (TBC)
	Distribution of Certificates	
1630 hrs	High-Tea	

\*\*\*